New version of food safety management standard FSSC 22000

Version 5 of the standard is updated to reflect the release of ISO 22000:2018 and GFSI requirements.

FSSC 22000 is the world leading certification scheme for food safety management systems. The standard is based on requirements in ISO 22000, but new requirements have been added to align with Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) guidance. GFSI, the most influential interest group for the food industry, has established a widely accepted set of criteria to define the food safety certification schemes suitable for the whole food industry.

FSSC 22000 v5 is a revised version of FSSC 22000 v 4.1, formally launched in July 2017. The main reasons for changes in the new version of FSSC 22000 v5 are:

  • Publication of the new ISO 22000:2018 standard
  • Inclusion of the Board of Stakeholders list of decisions
  • Compliance with GFSI requirements
  • Continual improvement process

The certification requirements are based on 3 standards:

  • The new version of ISO 22000:2018 includes important changes which are the key items to consider in the transition process.
  • Technical documents defining specific PRPs per category, such as ISO/TS 22002-1 (food), ISO/TS 22002-2 (catering), ISO/TS 22002-4 (packaging), ISO TS 22002-6 (feed), NEN/NTA 8059 (transport & storage) and PAS 221 (retail). These documents are not changed.
  • Additional requirements to FSSC 22000 v5 are added to ensure compliance with GFSI guidance. Several requirements have been reworded for clarification, but also new requirements have been added to align with GFSI guidance.

Audits against the former version FSSC 22000 v4.1 are only allowed until 31 December 2019 and all issued FSSC 22000 certificates v4.1 will become invalid after 29 June 2021. Upgrade audits against FSSC 22000 v5 scheme requirements shall be conducted between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2020.

“With the revision of ISO 22000 last year we have been awaiting the update of FSSC version 5. The latest version adopts the ISO High Level Structure, which is now common for all the new management system standards, allowing for an easier implementation and alignment with other standards. In addition, the standard will be risk based, differentiating between risk at the operating level and strategic level. The new revision is clearly an improved framework for companies to enhance food safety. In order to support our customers with the transition, we have developed guidance material and service packages we hope you will find useful,” says Ingunn Midttun Godal, Global Business Development Director in DNV GL – Business Assurance.

Get started on your transition process

We recommend to start preparing for the transition as early as possible and plan properly to incorporate needed changes into your management system.

See how we can help you on the transition.

More information


FSSC 22000 transition

Start preparing for the transition from FSSC 22000 v 4.1 to FSSC 22000 v 5.


The new ISO standards

See how we can assist you with the transition.